History, part 1

It all started years ago. The first incident that I remember was with my grandmother – my mother’s mother (yes, I know it is hereditary).

We had gone to visit and I remember being woken up (I wasn’t really sleeping) told to pack, and that we were going home. I was about 5 or 6 then, and we stopped at a hotel halfway home that night. I didn’t understand what was going on, I just knew that grandma yelled a lot. Actually the only memories I have of my grandmother are of her yelling, or upset at something. I have a few fond memories of our visits there, but none of htem include her – I remember playing in the woods by the train tracks, and the stuff she had in the ‘chicken coop’ garage, and her old car, and the stuff in the attic, but she was always yelling.

Jump forward about 10 years, and I start to notice some of the same behavior in my mom – the irate outbursts, the weeks of her ‘feeling sad’. I didn’t say anything at the time, what did a pre-teen know. Later in High School, I asked Dad about it, and he said that it was the ‘change of life’ (menopause). I knew it wasn’t, but let it drop and kept my distance when she was in ‘one of those moods’. This continued through college, Dad’s retirement, and my brother’s accident with no discernable pattern, but a general unquantified increase in severity.

~ by namegoeshere on April 5, 2007.

2 Responses to “History, part 1”

  1. My heart goes out to you and your family. I know what it is like to have a mother who suffers from bipolar disorder.
    Scotti

  2. Yeah, Menopause does NOT last two decades. Funny, because I have similar roots. I could tell you some stories. Maybe I already have… 😀

Comments are closed.