Vagrant in Training

While Dad was driving home, the calls that I got were ‘interesting’ to say the least. Mom was having another ‘physical’ problem that caused her to lose her balance. After Dad left, Mom went to the large pharmacy on the corner – about half a block from their hotel – to get food, since there wasn’t any in her room. She took a damp hand towel to cover her face with in case a car with ‘stinky’ exhaust or someone with a cigarette passed by. She was still having problems swallowing, and found that she could swallow Arizona iced tea better than the Gatorade that the doctors were recommending she drink. She bought a toaster among other things, and since she was having problems walking, the manager of the pharmacy let her take the shopping cart back to the hotel with her. She got down the block across the street from the hotel, and suddenly couldn’t make it any further. She was sitting across the street from the hotel next to her shopping cart, sipping on iced tea, and holding the towel over her face. She stayed there for a few hours, and made phone calls. She called her sister, her sister’s daughters, my work phone, my cell phone, and my home.

Her main complaint at that time was that Dad had left her to fend for herself, and that nobody would help her. One tourist family with a pre-teen daughter even walked by within feet of her, and didn’t offer any assistance. Before you think poorly of them, honestly ask yourself what you would have done. I bet that the only thing that crossed their minds when passing her was whether or not she was dangerous. Anyway, the ‘conversation’ that she had with me went from crying because she needed help and everyone had abandoned her, to screaming about how she was going to get even with everyone because she was such a powerful and intelligent woman, to telling about how beautiful the beach was, and how much fun my daughter would have if I would just let her come down for a visit, which led to how helpful my daughter would be to her, which led to how much help she needed, etc. Judging by the phone call I got from my Aunt and Cousin later that evening, her conversations with them went about the same.

She ended up getting someone to call an ambulance for her (not sure why her cell wouldn’t call for help, apparently it only calls family…) but the ambulance took her to the ‘wrong’ hospital, where she refused treatment. They were nice enough to call a cab to take her back to her hotel. Fortunately for everyone other than her, her cell phone battery died, and she didn’t believe me when I told her that it will actually work while it is plugged in to the charger. I (and I’m sure several other people on her call list) turned the ringer off on my phone that night.

~ by namegoeshere on April 12, 2007.