Ready for Release???

I got a call from Dad this afternoon – Mom will be getting out of the hospital on Wed. He and I both question just how stable she is, but she has ‘promised’ the doctors that she will continue to take her meds (yeah, right). I’m flying down tomorrow night (Tues) and will be helping them drive back on Thurs. and Fri. I was on the way back from the eye doctor when Dad called, and had had my eyes dilated. It was really interesting trying to make plane reservations without being able to keep the screen in focus for more than a second or two.

There are a few things that I will need to do before we come back:

Mom’s Dr.

  • What happens when she stops her meds – what should we do, and how long will it take for them to stop affecting her?
  • Is Mom’s bipolar co-morbid with other stuff like hypochondria & paranoia, or are they just a facet of the bipolar?
  • What signs (earlier the better) do we need to be watching for to see if she is off her meds, or having a recurrence?
  • His phone # or email so that Dad or I can ask him questions.

Stuff to Get:

  • A copy of the magistrate’s report
  • Copies of her medical records – including all the hospitals that she went to for IVs

Conversations Dad needs to have:

  • What happens when she goes off her meds?
  • What happens when she becomes uncontrolable on the drive home? (I really expect her to lock herself in a bathroom at a restaurant or rest stop)
  • What about Dad’s will – He should think of setting up a trust or something that will keep Mom from spending everything on QVC.
  • Even if Mom seems better, she will still need treatment for the rest of her life. Probably both meds and counseling.
  • Until Mom has been stable for a while, the kids will not be left unsupervised with her/them.

Hopefully I’ll be able to keep up with this while I’m down – otherwise, a LARGE update will be coming this weekend.

~ by namegoeshere on April 17, 2007.

One Response to “Ready for Release???”

  1. Hey, thanks for the blog. A friend pointed me here, and I could almost stop at the first sentence of every blog, knowing how it would go. It seems bipolar mothers are all the same.

Comments are closed.