No Rest for the Weary

We are out of town today, attending an award’s ceremony for my daughter, and now visiting some friends that live near where it was held. Shortly after arriving at their house, I got a call from Mom on my cell phone. Something had happened, and Dad has left again. Mom’s concerned about is health, as he has been having some issues that may possibly be something serious. He talked a little with me about it the evening before we picked up Mom, and he has an appointment scheduled for early next month. Apparently he told Mom about it, which probably led to an hour or three of ‘concerned’ conversation (very one sided, obviously). Even when what she is saying isn’t offensive or vile, the sheer repetition of it can cause even the prepared to begin drooling.

Mom also ‘found’ the Dr’s report from the hospital, and doesn’t understand how they managed to get so much of the factual information in it wrong – and in a way, she is right. Much of the factual stuff is probably wrong – but they did the best that they could capturing the data streaming by at light speed.

I told Mom not to worry, that Dad was probably just stressed, and that he would be back when he was ready. She wants me to come over tonight when we get home, but it will probably be too late (and Dad will probably be back by then anyway). I’ll call her tonight, and go over tomorrow. Mom also asked me to explain the Dr’s report to her, and God help me, I will. She probably won’t like it. (kinda like Sherman ‘didn’t like’ Atlanta)

~ by namegoeshere on April 21, 2007.

2 Responses to “No Rest for the Weary”

  1. I found this during a google search. I want to be vague, but I am concerned based on the similarities of thse experiences that my boyfriend’s mother is bipolar. Obsessive phone calling, name calling, a 50% chance of the phone call being good… accusatory, apologetic, accusatory, etc. I cannot go into detail and it’s not my place to do the diagnosis, but I cannot help him or help her and it’s making things miserable. He’s unhappy because she’s pushed people away. What to do.

  2. Anonymous:
    Psychology is not an exact science, and coming up with the a label is usually very subjective. Bipolar is characterized by both a depressed episode, and at least one manic or hypo-manic episode. A depressed episode is usually easy to spot – lack of energy and motivation being the key indicators. A manic episode is typically the exact opposite – lots of energy (think 9 year old with ADHD and ice cream) and lots of motivation, although typically they don’t carry anything through to completion. Psychologists call this ‘flights of fancy’. I think of it more as extreme distractability. Hypo-manic means a manic type episode but not to an extreme degree.
    The difficult thing about mental disorders is that they are usually just extreme forms of what normal people do. Everyone has up and down days, bipolar people just go to extremes.

Comments are closed.