A Reminder of Mom’s Vacillations

The day started with a call from Mom at work. She was looking for the pot that she sent some chili over in. Frantically looking for the pot. And the towels that were with the pot. And the cardboard box that the pot was in. And a thank-you note for the chili would have been nice. And did I have the pot in my car, or was it still at my house, etc. I told her that I’d bring the pot over tonight, and that I was working and didn’t have time to talk now. She got (read was already) mad, and hung up. I called my wife at home to warn her to turn the answering machine down (so the kids don’t get too much of an earful). Mom left 5 messages over the next two hours, and apparently sent dad over to get the pot that I was supposed to leave on the porch for him to get – per one of her messages. The pot wasn’t on the porch because the kids had band practice, so no one was home.

Later that evening, I took the pot over, and had a relatively normal conversation with Mom & Dad. They appear to have had a good visit with both Mom’s Sjogren’s Dr, as well as the shrink. The shrink gave mom some additional meds, but they knocked her out cold. He told her not to take them, but she is still on the other meds that she has been taking for almost two weeks now.

This is a little more like Mom’s old pattern of being nearly hysterical at times – especially when she is alone, and relatively normal at other times – especially when she is not alone. I’m going to have to read up on it to see if this is typical of bipolar, or if this is something unique to Mom. My guess is that Mom tends to just work herself up when there isn’t anyone else around.
BTW, the pot was never mentioned.

~ by namegoeshere on April 26, 2007.

3 Responses to “A Reminder of Mom’s Vacillations”

  1. I am so glad she got her pot back. Ya might want to make sure you don’t have anything else of hers lying around… đŸ˜‰

  2. It took me a while to figure it out, but it really doesn’t matter what Mom is upset about. If it wasn’t the pot, it would have been something else, the pot was just something easy to fixate on. She was going to be upset, and returning the pot wouldn’t have changed that, it would only have changed what she was upset about – so why bother.

  3. That’s a great way of looking at it. Continuing to remember you all in prayer.

Comments are closed.