Mother’s Day Approaches

Ever tried finding a card for your bipolar mother? Didn’t think so – and the card retailers don’t carry anything fitting either. So, I got an innocuous one from me and the kids – which we will deliver on Saturday afternoon. Mom’s now had three appointments with the shrink, and hasn’t had issues with continuing her meds.

Mom & Dad were out of town for a few days, so I really didn’t have anything to say. They got back this evening, but Mom left a message on my cell phone voicemail, as well as my home answering machine. Neither were bad, or really interesting for blogging purposes – except the last comment at home – which was ‘well, I guess your phone is broken since nobody ever answers…’ Well DUH. My wife, who has been stressed out enough over this, has strict instructions NOT to answer the phone if it is from their phone – and to turn the answering machine down if needed. If I’m home, I will pick up (unless I don’t feel like it), and when I’m at work I frequently have things that prevent me from answering also. Mom has previously (but not today) left dozens of messages over the course of a day, and they often end with ‘I don’t understand why nobody ever answers’. I could explain it in a few short words, but they wouldn’t be well received.

The birthday party last week went fine with all of us out for pizza. My wife wasn’t feeling 100%, and I told her that I wouldn’t request that she go if she didn’t want to. She didn’t want to go, but didn’t want to not go, and ended up going. Nothing significant happened.

Blah, blah, blah – nothing to see here, move along people.

I’m really hoping that the ‘interesting and amusing’ blogging material is over, but I know better.

~ by namegoeshere on May 12, 2007.

4 Responses to “Mother’s Day Approaches”

  1. I can see how this day would be difficult for you.

    I had been wondering how things have been going with your mother. I pretty much assumed that since you hadn’t been posting that nothing significant had happened. I’m sure that will change from all that I’ve learned/read about bipolar.

    All the best to you and your family.

  2. I found a mother’s day card for a mother-in law that fits…

    ephemeron.net/photochops/MILCard.jpg

    (Edited: The image referenced went offline – but I had saved a copy HERE)

  3. NGH’s Wife here…Thanks for the card. Sadly it is very appropriate.

    Yes Elaine…it will constantly be in a state of flux. That is the nature of the beast with Bipolar Disorder.

  4. I’m so glad I was done with my lemonade when I read that card! My screen would have needed extra cleaning and my keyboard would have been a mess!

    I’m glad the party went okay.

Comments are closed.