Here to Stay

I’ve been privately asked if having this blog is a good idea. I’ve asked myself that question as well. There are some very serious reasons for NOT having this publicly available:

  • If found, it could (read would) permanently corrupt any hope of restoring relations with Mom and Dad – especially Dad.
  • It could lead to a court case for libel or slander.
  • The family information here would be best left private – especially in light of several of Mom’s comments.

But this blog is done exclusively by ME for ME – others are welcome, but I think of it more as a public diary than anything else. That said, I don’t feel the need to remove it because:

  • Everything here is anonymous – If you already know, you can see what is happening here. There is no way that reading this blog will lead to a conclusion about who is involved without prior knowledge. Specific details have been omitted or changed for this reason.
  • For legal purposes (slander), the truth is an absolute defense. Everything here is true, or my opinion. Neither of which are actionable in court.
  • There are a multitude of friends and family that read this as a way of keeping in touch with what is going on. I don’t mind talking to people (much), but conveying the same information to dozens of people is easier this way.
  • When I started this blog, it helped me sort and organize my thoughts and feelings, as well as to ‘give it up’. Once written down, I no longer have to dwell on particular events. I have referred back to entries that I have made to get an idea of my mindset at the time. It has helped me to see how I have grown in dealing with this.
  • Comments by guests have also been helpful, and shed light on events from a different perspective. Removing the blog would nearly eliminate input from people who are far enough removed from the situation to be objective.

In a nutshell, the blog is here to stay.

~ by namegoeshere on July 7, 2007.

One Response to “Here to Stay”

  1. Thank you for your blog. I don’t have to feel like the only 1 out here.

Comments are closed.