Dad’s Back Again

Dad called this afternoon and had a question about his cell. Apparently Mom changed the pin# and he can’t check his messages. He’s going to have to go back to the store to get it reset this time.

He came back from the beach and the next day went up to the cabin. He got back this afternoon. He told me a little about what had gone on, and that Mom is extremely inconsistent. He didn’t get a chance to see the shrink while he was down, but Mom has still been going. I wonder how long that will last.

He also told me that Mom doesn’t want him to leave the house even for errands (or to get a break, I’m sure). She’ll block the door to keep him there, and even put her car behind his truck to keep him from getting out. He misjudged the clearance that he had and actually bumped the drivers side fender. He said that he was distracted because Mom was walking next to the truck and he didn’t want to hit her. What that probably means is that she was yelling at him about something and banging on his window. When he left to come back here, he did it while Mom was at the counselors. He did leave her a note. And in addition to all the nasty voicemail messages that she left for him, she sent him flowers today.

My wife suggested that since she and the kids are at her sisters tonight that I should take Dad out to diner. When I called him back, he didn’t answer. I’m not really surprised at that, because shortly after I talked to Dad, I got a voicemail from Mom. She still didn’t know where Dad is, and I probably didn’t care anyway, and wouldn’t even come to his funeral if he were dead.

I’ve gotten two more messages since then, but haven’t listened to them.

I’m working on a project on the house this weekend, and need to go to the hardware store tomorrow for parts. I’m going to call and see if Dad wants to go along.

~ by namegoeshere on May 17, 2008.

3 Responses to “Dad’s Back Again”

  1. Still keeping up. I really wish I knew what to say. I have noticed that your mother’s preoccupation with death has drastically increased though. Perhaps it’s one obsession (your wife) being replaced with another (death)?

  2. Mom’s preoccupation with death at this time of year is because of my brother’s birthday in early May, and their first baby, in late April (I think).
    She goes through a similar thing around the anniversary of my brother’s accident in mid September.

  3. Makes sense. Question: Does it escalate each year though?

Comments are closed.