Mom Approaching From The SouthWest

While running some errands yesterday, I stopped by the hospital and picked up some information about local support groups for loved ones of people with bipolar. There are two that are relatively convenient to where we are, one from NAMI, and one from DBSA. I stopped at Dad’s on my way home to drop them off.

When Dad came to the door, he told me that he just got off the phone with Mom, and that she was about 45 minutes away. I offered to move my car so that he could make a quick exit, but he said that he would probably stick around – for a few days, anyway.

I told him why I had come, and he was interested. I also told him that I would take the info with me so that Mom wouldn’t see it, and get it to him when she left.

He told me that Mom had taken a reservation that they would be unable to fulfill, and that he would probably have to go down to the beach to clean up some stuff.

We also talked a bit about just how much stress he was under – similar to the troops in a battle zone. Even if nothing happens for 3 or 4 days, the stress of anticipating it constantly still takes a toll. He said that he was surprised that he didn’t have an ulcer from it all

We talked briefly about stuff, and I left. I estimate that I had ten minutes to spare.

~ by namegoeshere on June 2, 2008.

One Response to “Mom Approaching From The SouthWest”

  1. I was raised by a bipolar mother, as well. I found your blog and it is such solice to me. In a way that I don’t feel so alone. Unfortunately, I am my mother’s caregiver. She has lived with me, my husband and two children most of her life. My kids are grown now. But besides that, there are days now that I feel I can’t do it anymore. Lately, I’ve been looking online for people that have had the same experiences I’ve had. Thank you for documenting your world. I hope it helps release some of the pain I know she puts you through on daily basis. I too just don’t get sometimes why those mean, scathing remarks surface out of nowhere. I’m continually amazed at what sets her off. She was misdiagnosed for years and years. So many meds, so much hell finding things that work. I’ve learned bipolar is a very individual disease. It’s such a delicate process to get the person on the right meds. And such a painful process to get it started! Denial prevails most of the time which just makes the process longer. I’ve found my mother is more accepting when she is in her “low” modes. Sorry so long winded, I just really wanted to thank you is all.

Comments are closed.